In my veg box this week – mushrooms, kale, corn

24 Sep

I can’t believe it’s been almost a month since I last wrote about my veg box. I’ve not been slacking, we had to cancel a few weeks of deliveries, at first because I had so much home-grown produce from my Mum’s allotment, and then because Mr Veg and I went on holiday to Italy. We had such a fab time in Italy, and of course ate some gorgeous food, but I’ll tell you all about that another day.

This week we have:

Mushrooms
We get a bag of mushrooms most weeks. It’s a bit strange, they’re really good mushrooms but we only get a really tiny amount of them – about 100g. It’s not really enough to make them the star of a dish. What will I do with them? This might sound a bit odd, but it depends on whether or not Mr Veg likes mushrooms at the moment or not (he has a bit of a love/hate thing for fungi). If he does like them then great, I’ll use them to enhance an unadventurous dish like spaghetti bolognese, stir-fry, or a vegetable pilaf. Otherwise, I might just be having mushrooms on toast tomorrow, one of my favourite breakfasts.

Kale
I was really really hoping to get some kale this week, so I was thrilled that it was the first thing I saw when I opened the box. The butternut squash my Mum gave me a few weeks ago is almost ripe now, I’ve thought of two ideas of what to do with it and both involve kale. I like the idea of combining sweet, rich, soft squash with green, earthy, crunchy kale. Whichever idea I go with will probably end up on the blog, so keep an eye out.

Corn on the cobs
Wow, these are the first (possibly only) fresh corn I’ve had all summer. I’m definitely having them tonight – sweetcorn is one of those vegetables that gradually gets less sweet, so time is of the essence. I’m not going to do anything fancy, just boil them and slather them with a bit of hot sauce.

Also received this week: bananas, plums, apples, grapes, a lemon, a red pepper, tomatoes, potatoes, carrots, onions.

“In my veg box this week…” is not intended as a product review, simply a description of some of the fruit and vegetables that are in season and what I like to do with them. I pay full price for my vegetable box and have no affiliation with the company that delivers them or any of their suppliers.

4 Responses to “In my veg box this week – mushrooms, kale, corn”

  1. tuthersue September 25, 2014 at 6:01 pm #

    Wondered as a vegan just what do you slather on sweetcorn if not butter ? While on the subject ( veggie alternatives) I have been looking at egg substitutes. Spoke to a veggie lady in our farmers market, she uses a product called Vegg, have you heard of it – is it any good.

    • mrsveg September 25, 2014 at 6:07 pm #

      Alex had marge, I had sweet chilli sauce. A nice oil would be good too. I’ve looked at Vegg online, I’m quite tempted to try it – it’s kind of for making things taste yolky and I really miss yolks.

  2. tuthersue September 27, 2014 at 6:00 pm #

    Temped too, think it would work out in cakes – you have to have cake 😉

    • mrsveg September 27, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

      Well, there’s lots of other, cheaper, things you can use for cake. Don’t worry, we have lots of cake. I’ll have to make you some.

Leave a Reply

