No need for a veg box this week – home grown goodies from Mum

27 Aug

Wednesday is normally my veg box day, but I went to see my parents at the weekend and came home with this gorgeous back of fresh veggies! Going to visit my Mum’s allotment was one of the highlights of my weekend, she puts an awful lot of work into it but gets so much back in return. It’s not just the veg (although as I’ve said before about a million times that you can’t beat home grown), but the community and the satisfaction of putting love and effort into something and being rewarded. I don’t have a garden but don’t have the time for an allotment either, I am more than a little envious.

Anyway, my Mum said “lets just pop over to the allotment and pick a couple of bits for you to take back with you” and I ended up with all of this. We picked:

A massive bundle of beans. I think it’s going to be beans with everything for the foreseeable future.

Three different sorts of courgette – yellow, green, and round. The round courgette was more like a ball of marrow than a courgette. I cut it in half, scooped out the seeds, stuffed it with felafel mix, and baked it.

A butternut squash. It’s still very under-ripe, but after a few weeks of sitting on a window ledge (sunny, but not in direct sunlight) it will be ready to go. I love squashes and I’m really looking forward to them being in season. My Mum is also growing massive pumpkins, so hopefully I’ll have one of those soon as well.

Some long peppers. She broke one of the “rules” of vegetable gardening and planted some seeds out of a supermarket pepper. It’s a bit risky because the seeds might not be fertile, or might produce peppers completely different from the parent plant, but luckily it did work and they’re absolutely beautiful, really fruity and with a much more interesting flavour than peppers from a shop.

A box of tomatoes. As you can probably see, they got a bit squashed in transit (I’m a public transport girl), but it didn’t matter because I decided on the journey to turn them into a bit batch of tomato sauce, after I spotted this recipe from JB at frugalfinefreshfood.com. The sauce was delicious, somehow both fresh and rich at the same time. We had some over the felafel-stuffed courgette, and I’m about to reheat the rest to serve with some pasta, veg, and tofu.

She also gave me a couple of bulbs of garlic, not freshly picked but definitely home grown.

3 Responses to “No need for a veg box this week – home grown goodies from Mum”

  1. frugalfinefreshfood August 27, 2014 at 7:24 pm #

    Absolutely nothing nicer than homegrown veg. We had an allotment for a few years. Loved it and miss it but it became too much trying to balance it with work. Still grow some fruit & veggies in garden. The veg you got from your mum looks fantastic 🙂
    So glad you enjoyed my recipe for pasta sauce and thank you so much again for mentioning me in your post x

    • mrsveg August 27, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

      We used to have an allotment too, it was just five minutes walk from our house and it was so soothing to drop by for an hour after work to do a little bit of digging or picking – there’s no better stress buster than gardening. We moved just a couple of miles down the road and it wasn’t so easy any more so we had to give it up. I do really miss it.

      • frugalfinefreshfood August 27, 2014 at 8:35 pm #

        I know exactly what you mean. I could completely ‘lose myself’ in mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

