In my veg box this week – sorrel, kohlrabi, tomatoes

9 Aug

Sorrel
The bag was unlabelled so I had to try a little bit just to double check what the leaves were. I’m glad I only tasted a tiny bit because it’s really strong on its own, kind of like incredibly lemony spinach. It can give a mixed leaf salad a lovely tang, or can be used in cooking to liven things up.  I’ve used some to make some courgette and sorrel soup. To feed 2-3 people, dice a small onion and a small potato and sweat over a low heat with a bit of oil in a covered saucepan for five minutes; add a couple of crushed cloves of garlic and about 500g sliced courgettes and sweat for another five minutes; add 500ml vegetable stock and simmer for 10 minutes; throw in 25g sorrel then blend; taste for seasoning and serve. With the rest, I think I’m going to experiment with sorrel pesto, if it goes well it will end up here on the blog.

Kohlrabi
Looks like a cross between a vegetable and an alien space craft, tastes like a cross between broccoli stems and turnip. Smaller ones can be sliced or grated for a salad, but this is a bit of a monster so it will need to be peeled and cooked. At other times of year I might roast it or use it in a potato gratin, but it’s summer and I can’t face stodgy food so it will either end up in pesto pasta with mixed veggies, or in a spicy stir fry.

Regular tomatoes and cherry tomatoes
Another favourite glut of the summer, tomatoes are something I don’t mind getting tonnes of because I can happily put them in anything. At this time of year they’re sweet and full of flavour, and they smell of summer. For tomato scrambled tofu for 1-2 people, fry a couple of tomatoes over a medium-high heat for a couple of minutes; add 200g crumbled tofu and fry for a couple more minutes; add a tablespoon of roughly chopped basil, a splash of lemon juice, half a teaspoon of black or regular salt, and a tablespoon of nutritional yeast flakes; serve on toast or as part of a big veggie fry-up.

Also received this week: courgettes, carrots, new potatoes, broad beans, green and yellow French beans, garlic, bananas, pears, grapes, greengages.

“In my veg box this week…” is not intended as a product review, simply a description of some of the fruit and vegetables that are in season and what I like to do with them. I pay full price for my vegetable box and have no affiliation with the company that delivers them or any of their suppliers.

3 Responses to “In my veg box this week – sorrel, kohlrabi, tomatoes”

  1. frugalfinefreshfood August 9, 2014 at 5:31 pm #

    Love the sound of the courgette and sorrel soup. I’ve got a glut of courgettes in my garden at the moment.

    • mrsveg August 9, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

      Thank you, it’s really light and fresh and a good way to use up a lot of courgettes. I’m growing them too and we’re eating them every day at the moment.

  2. trixpin August 10, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    What a great selection. I haven’t had kohlrabi in AGES – must get some sometime!

Leave a Reply

