In my veg box this week – beetroot, lemon, apricots

24 Jul

This week we have:

Beetroot
I mistook the leaves for chard at first, until I saw what they were attached to. Beets and chard are closely related, and you can use the leaves as a green. A while ago I made beet-leaf soup, not knowing what it would look or taste like. It came out vibrant purple and delicious, if I hadn’t known what it was made of I think I would have guessed it was a mixture of beetroot and spinach. I think this time I’m going to use the leaves in a creamy pasta, the smaller roots raw in a salad, and the larger roots roasted.

A lemon
I always have a bottle of lemon juice in the fridge, so it’s always there if I need a splash for a recipe. Whenever I get an actual real lemon in the veg box I feel like I need to use them for something more special, something you need a whole lemon for. I’m either going to put it towards a lemon drizzle cake, or buy some gin or coronas. I wouldn’t want it to go to waste now would I 😉

Apricots
One of the best things about summer is the soft fruits like apricots. They taste like flowers and sunshine. Some people moan about soft fruits taking ages to ripen and then all going soft at once, but I quite enjoy that – to me having to eat all my fruit in one day before they spill juice everywhere is all part of the fun of summer.

Also received this week: bananas, more whitecurrants, a big green pepper, a cucumber, spinach, carrots, potatoes, mushrooms, onions.

Leave a Reply

