In my veg box this week – stripy courgettes, lettuce, whitecurrants

16 Jul

It’s been a couple of months since I’ve written this series, and so much has changed. The endless brassicas and roots are being replaced by salads and fruiting veg. Over winter and spring the fruit in particular got very repetitive, often the same three things week after week, and now we’re getting soft fruits and berries. It’s so exciting! This week we have:

Stripy courgettes
I absolutely love courgettes, they’re one of the things I really look forward to coming into season. I’m even looking forward to my own courgette plants going bonkers and producing them faster than we can eat them, as long as the weather holds out and we don’t get any more pigeon attacks. I’ve got lots of old favourite ways of cooking them, from including them in scrambled tofu or pasta dishes, to preserving them with wine and oil. I’m also really looking forward to trying some new recipes, in particular I’d love to try making courgette cake or muffins. Luckily I can tell the veg box company to stop bringing certain items, so as soon as my own plants start producing more I can switch off the courgette delivery.

Lettuce
I have to admit I am getting a little bit bored with lettuce. We’ve had exactly the same sort of lettuce almost every week for the past couple of months now. It’s lovely and crisp and fresh, and it goes with pretty much anything, but the flavour is not particularly exciting and there’s not many different things you can do with it. Any unusual ideas would certainly be welcome!

Whitecurrants
I don’t think I’ve had these before. They taste very similar to redcurrants, they might be a little bit more tart but that could just be because they’re not fully ripe yet. I could cook these for a dessert, but they’re just as lovely on their own. What I particularly love is their translucency, there’s something about being able to see the seeds that reminds me of eggs or frogspawn – is it weird that I find that appealing?

Also received this week: kale, broccoli, cucumber, carrots, new potatoes, mushrooms, oranges, a lemon, apricots.

3 Responses to “In my veg box this week – stripy courgettes, lettuce, whitecurrants”

  1. tuthersue July 16, 2014 at 7:10 pm #

    white currant vodka ?

  2. Dimple@shivaaydelights July 16, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

    You have a wonderful food blog so…

    I’m sending you….

    A foodie invitation…Come join our new vegetarian food group on Facebook and post your yummy recipes, pictures and blog links…Let’s all share and connect through food! 🙂

    https://m.facebook.com/groups/1433687623575418?ref=m_notif&notif_t=group_activity

    Regards D

    • mrsveg July 16, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

      How lovely, thanks for the invitation. I love your blog too x x

Leave a Reply

