Veganizing a Mrs Veg classic – breakfast muffins

6 Apr

One of the most popular posts on my blog to date is the veggie bacon and egg muffins from August 2013. It does bother me a little that on a mostly healthy, mostly plant-powered blog, the thing I’m most recognised for is neither of those things. The vegan version is still junk food, still delicious, but just a little healthier. Here’s how I veganized it:

  • The English muffin can obviously stay, just check the ingredients as some contain milk.
  • You can get vegan cheese singles, but I’d much rather use a lovely thick layer of guacamole. Vegan cheese just sounds wrong, I can’t bring myself to try it. The healthy fat from the avocado satisfies my cheese craving, but unlike vegan cheese you can actually see what it’s made out of when you look at it.
  • The fried egg is replaced by fried or grilled tofu. On this occasion I used Cauldron smoked tofu, but plain tofu marinated overnight would work just as well.
  • A rasher or two of veggie bacon. In the original I think I used Quorn Bacon Style Rashers, which contain egg. I’ve now switched to Cheatin’ Rashers, which don’t. Tempeh bacon would also be an excellent choice.

The next stage is to make it classier, but that’s a post for another day.

3 Responses to “Veganizing a Mrs Veg classic – breakfast muffins”

  1. Sophie33 April 6, 2014 at 1:05 pm #

    Yum Yum Yummm!

  2. VegCharlotte April 6, 2014 at 3:01 pm #

    I think it’s a popular post because so many new vegans are confused over what to eat for breakfast! Many people grew up on eggs, omelets, ham, bacon, cheese grits, sausage, etc … OR they ate cereal and milk. I think it’s hard at first for new vegans to realize all the breakfast choices they actually have! BTW, I agree with you about avocado – I’d rather use that than vegan cheese anyday!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipes Of The Week! | - June 9, 2014

    […] Veganizing a Mrs Veg classic – breakfast muffins […]

Leave a Reply

