In my veg box this week – spinach vs. kale, and coping with bananas

19 Mar

Spring is on its way and we’re finally starting to get more variety again. This week we have:

Double greens!
A massive bag of spinach and an equally huge bunch of Tuscan kale, AKA cavolo nero. I’m so excited to get two big bunches of greens because I absolutely love both. Greens are great for iron, calcium, and tonnes of vitamins, although apparently these are more bioavailable in kale than spinach. Kale is really versatile and goes really well with chilli and other spices (always a plus in my book), and has a much more satisfying bite to it. Spinach works better cooked down, squeezed out, then chopped and put in a pasta sauce, or curry, or pie filling (like a spinach quiche). I’m thinking in this case of making either spinach and tofu-ricotta pasta, or a bright green soup. Which do I prefer out of kale and spinach? For me, thanks to the texture and health advantages, kale wins (but only just).

Bananas
I love bananas, they’re my favourite portable snack, are full of potassium and fibre, and are one of the best hangover cures I know. I know I’m not alone in being a bit squeamish about overripe bananas, though. Luckily, one of the advantages of volunteering for FoodCycle is that it is curing me of this through exposure therapy. We tend to get a lot of bananas at varying stages of ripeness, from perfectly edible to black and mushy. Last Saturday I was given two bowls of frozen then partially thawed bananas to turn into ice cream. It is an awful lot of work if you don’t have a blender, but frozen bananas mashed with yoghurt and syrup make brilliant, healthy yet decadent ice cream.

Also received this week: satsumas, apples, pears, beetroot, sweet potato, carrots, onions, potatoes, mushrooms.

4 Responses to “In my veg box this week – spinach vs. kale, and coping with bananas”

  1. Penniless Veggie March 20, 2014 at 10:45 am #

    Big love for spinach here, and that kale looks top notch! My spinach beet patch (you should try growing it, it’s super easy) is now starting to perk up after the winter and we had our first harvest of fresh spinach for this year, last week.

    • mrsveg March 20, 2014 at 6:22 pm #

      Is spinach beet similar to chard? I’m growing rainbow chard at the moment and it’s just beautiful!

      • Penniless Veggie March 21, 2014 at 7:28 am #

        Yes, it’s from the chard family. It’s a biennial so you only have to sow on alternate years (mine self seeds actually so the only thing I do is a little thinning.) Can’t beat rainbow chard for the pretty colours! I have ‘Bright Lights’ to sow soon.

      • mrsveg March 21, 2014 at 9:08 am #

        Sounds lovely! I think I might plant some next time we’ve got an empty container. I’ve got a lovely little mini veg garden outside my front door.

Leave a Reply

