Carrot and white bean hummus

16 Feb

My carrot hummus in a wrap with sunflower seeds, grated carrot, and mixed leaves. Delish!

I feel incredibly lucky to live just a couple of minutes walk from a local, independent deli. It’s my favourite place to get lunch if I’m at home on a Saturday or in the week. They’ve got tonnes of different salads (the best being a roasted vegetable and butter bean ratatouille), incredible sourdough bread, olives, loads of different kind of teas, and a good selection of fruit and veg. A few weeks ago I bought some carrot hummus from the deli, and it was ok but not what I was expecting at all – there were no beans and, even worse, no tahini. It was quite expensive for what was, essentially, just a pot of mashed carrots. Even if it was disappointing, at least it inspired me to create a new recipe. Carrot and white bean hummus, with tahini!

Slightly blurry carrot hummus

Recipe (makes one big pot):

  • 2 medium carrots (about 150g), peeled and chopped into 1cm slices
  • A 400g tin of white beans (I used butter beans but any white beans would be fine), drained
  • Half clove of garlic, mashed to a pulp with a pinch of the salt (I don’t use too much garlic in hummus because I usually eat it at work. If you’re not eating it at work or don’t mind scaring your colleagues, feel free to use a lot more.)
  • Half a teaspoon of salt
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 3 tablepoons of lemon juice
  • A pinch of ground cumin

Put the carrots in a saucepan, cover with cold water. Bring to the boil then simmer for 15 minutes or so until tender. Drain and allow to cool.

Put all of the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Taste for seasoning and lemon, and adjust if necessary.

Keeps for up to three days in the fridge.

4 Responses to “Carrot and white bean hummus”

  1. Dimple@shivaaydelights February 16, 2014 at 3:37 pm #

    I fancy some home made hummus now! Lovely recipe x

    • mrsveg February 16, 2014 at 5:09 pm #

      Go for it, it’s so quick and easy to make!

  2. paperbagblog February 17, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    I really need to start making my own hummus! Every time I’ve made it in the past it’s turned out gross 😦

    • mrsveg February 17, 2014 at 9:28 pm #

      It took me a long long time to get the balance of ingredients right. We ate many batches of bad hummus, usually either too bland or way too garlicky. It was totally worth it though, once you can make your own you’ll never go back.

Leave a Reply

