In my veg box this week – leek, cabbage, potato, apple

22 Jan

This week we have:

Leek, cabbage, and potato
A few days after I wrote my first veg box post two weeks ago I realised I had the ingredients to one of my favourite side dishes, so I’m really happy I’ve got them again this week so I can write about colcannon mash. I’m not normally a fan of mashed potato, but if it has other stuff in it to jazz it up then I love it. Colcannon is a more upmarket version of bubble and squeak, it’s mashed potato mixed with cabbage and leeks. To make a generous portion for two, boil about 500g of peeled potatoes until tender and mashable, about 20 minutes. Meanwhile, simmer half a sliced cabbage and a sliced leek in vegetable stock until quite soft, about 10 minutes. Drain the cabbage and leek and reserve some of the stock. Drain the potatoes and mash with a splash of the reserved stock, along with a good grinding of black pepper. Mix the vegetables into the mash and serve with sausages and gravy. Yum.

Apples
I stopped eating apples for a long time because they tend to make me hungrier than I was before, but then I read that if you eat an apple an hour or so before eating a meal it won’t happen, and it works for me. I can now enjoy sweet, local, fragrant apples again! My favourite way to enjoy an apple is to slice it and eat it with peanut butter, it sounds a bit unusual but it’s a really tasty and satisfying combination.

We share a lot of our fruit and vegetables with our pets. Here are the bearded dragons enjoying an apple core and completely ignoring some cabbage.

2014-01-22 19.00.33

Also received this week: oranges, bananas, grapes, a squash, lots of little beetroot, potatoes, carrots, onions, mushrooms.

3 Responses to “In my veg box this week – leek, cabbage, potato, apple”

  1. trixpin January 23, 2014 at 12:22 pm #

    I don’t think I could live without apples. They are absolutely the best fruit EVER, and sweet locally produced ones are really hard to beat. I see you’ve got another squash too – you’ll be squashed-out by the end of the season 😉

    • mrsveg January 23, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

      Squashed out?! Never! If we got one every week I’d be thrilled 🙂

      • trixpin January 23, 2014 at 6:14 pm #

        Hahaha 😀 I think I agree with you actually …

Leave a Reply

