In my veg box this week – cauliflower, parsnips, jerusalem artichokes

15 Jan

This week we have:

Cauliflower
It’s not particularly popular as it’s kind of bland, but that’s why I like it. Its delicate flavour, combined with its high surface area, means that it is brilliant for picking up other flavours. It’s begging to be in a curry! My favourite is aloo gobi – potatoes and cauliflower fried with spices including cumin, chilli, ginger, fenugreek, and tumeric.

Parsnips
I heard once that parsnips are sweeter after a frost, so I now always freeze my parsnips before I eat them. I don’t know if it makes much of a difference to the flavour, but they freeze well and it’s really convenient. I tend to get a lot of parsnips in the winter, but if I freeze them I can eat them all year round. As soon as I get them I peel them, chop them, and then put them straight in the freezer. They can be roasted from frozen, or added to soup, stew, or curry.

Jerusalem artichokes
When Mr Veg and I were first dating he used to grow these on his allotment, and one of the first times I went round his house he fed me mashed artichokes. They were really lovely – sweet, nutty and fragrant. Unfortunately, not long after dinner I developed a bit of a wind problem, and I’ve been banned from eating them ever since. I’m not 100% convinced that they were the cause, but as artichokes have a bit of a bad reputation my husband isn’t too keen on feeding them to me ever again. Luckily, he’s going away for a couple of days so I can try them again and find out for certain whether I can eat them or not without offending him. They were beautiful mashed, I think I might try them roasted this time. Wish me luck!

Also received this week: apples, two kinds of oranges, bananas, potatoes, carrots, onions, mushrooms, kale.

Leave a Reply

