In my veg box this week – kiwi, beetroot, squash

8 Jan

Image

I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I get a weekly organic fruit and vegetable delivery. It started a couple of years ago, when our local greengrocers closed down and the variety of fruit and vegetables we were eating very quickly went down. Getting it delivered is a really easy way to get a variety of seasonal veggies and support local businesses. As it’s something I really enjoy I’ve decided to regularly share what I get and what I’m going to do with it.

This week we have:

Kiwi
It sounds weird if you’ve never tried it, but I eat kiwis whole, skin and all. It does freak people out a little when they see my do it. The fuzzy texture takes a little getting used to, but as with most fruit there is more fibre and other nutrients in the skin, so it’s really good for you. Try slicing a whole kiwi thinly and I’m sure you’ll agree there’s no need to peel it.

A massive beetroot
It’s so big I mistook it for a swede at first. You can eat smaller beets raw, but when they get larger they tend to be a little too woody and need cooking. I find the easiest way to cook beetroot is to bake them. Simply scrub them (don’t bother peeling, it’s too much effort and completely unneccessary), cut into wedges, wrap in greaseproof paper with a splash of balsamic vinegar and any other seasonings you like, then bake for 30 minutes or so at 200°C. I’ve got a great recipe for chocolate beetroot cake from my mum, but I’ll share this another day.

Squash
I love squash so much it’s always a joy to see them in my veg box. I have no idea what type of squash these are, if anyone can identify them from the photo below I’d be really interested to find out. I haven’t decided what to do with these yet, but I’ve got tonnes of ideas. I particularly love roasted squash tossed with sage, chilli, pasta, and pumpkin seeds, maybe with a bit of greens thrown in. I’m also considering a recipe for squash, black bean and chestnut burgers from Lukas Volger’s “Veggie Burgers Every Which Way” (one of my favourite Christmas presents).

Image

Also received this week: potatoes, onions, carrots, mushrooms, cabbage, leeks, oranges, apples, bananas.

8 Responses to “In my veg box this week – kiwi, beetroot, squash”

  1. More Than Greens January 8, 2014 at 10:55 pm #

    I LOVE kiwi skin! I cut the ‘lid’ off of the kiwi the top and scoop out the centre, then I turn the skin inside out so I don’t taste the fuzzy bit as much. Yum!

    • mrsveg January 9, 2014 at 7:14 pm #

      I didn’t think of that, I’ll have to try it that way.

    • mrsveg January 9, 2014 at 7:15 pm #

      Ooh, I didn’t think of that, I’ll have to try it!

  2. trixpin January 15, 2014 at 8:58 pm #

    It looks like a nice selection, but a shame you got such a large beetroot as they can be tough, like you say.
    I don’t know about the squash – the one at the front looks like it has a pattypan squash style bottom (flat and frilly)? But it could just be a standard yellow squash (originally named!).

    • mrsveg January 15, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

      Amazingly, the beetroot wasn’t woody at all. I don’t know if it was my amazing beetroot skills or if I was just really lucky.
      The squash were both long, with seeds the along the full length of the inside, like a cucumber. I’ve not managed to find out what they were yet, but they’re lovely.

      • trixpin January 16, 2014 at 4:10 am #

        I reckon it must have been your amazing beetroot skills 😉

    • mrsveg January 15, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      Aha! According to this they were delicata squash:
      http://www.epicurious.com/articlesguides/seasonalcooking/farmtotable/visual-guide-winter-squash

      • trixpin January 16, 2014 at 4:11 am #

        What a useful page! Glad you found that out.

Leave a Reply

