Celeriac and cider soup

3 Nov

Celeriac is one of my favourite vegetables, so much so that when I got one in my veg box recently I felt like I’d won the lottery. If you’ve never tried it before I’d urge you to do so. You might have heard it being described as tasting like celery, and it sort of does, in an abstract sort of way. If you don’t like celery don’t let it put you off. It has the sweet, spicy flavour of celery, but it is warm and starchy rather crunchy and green. Or, as one of my former housemates once drunkenly told me, it’s like sex in root vegetable form.

Celeriac is rather knobbly and dirty, and might look a bit daunting to peel, but as long as you have a decent quality vegetable peeler and a sharp paring knife it won’t take too long.

This recipe is loosely based on one from James Martin, a TV chef who likes to add a ton of butter and cream to everything he makes (the recipe is here if you’re interested). My soup is less greasy but just as creamy and delicious. I’ve swapped the wine for cider (a) because I’m a cider fiend, and (b) because the fruitiness really compliments the spiciness and makes the soup warmer and more comforting. If you can, use a good quality local cider, rather than a slosh out of a can of stuff that contains more high-fructose corn syrup than actual apples.

Recipe (serves four)

  • a tablespoon or so of oil
  • a large onion, peeled and chopped
  • a couple of cloves of garlic, smashed and finely chopped
  • a medium celeriac (about 500-700g peeled weight), peeled, and chopped into approx. 1.5cm cubes
  • 100ml cider
  • 500ml vegetable stock
  • 100ml milk (or non-dairy milk of your choice)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over a low-medium heat. Fry the onions with the lid on, for about five minutes. Add the garlic and celeriac and fry for about five more minutes, still covered.

Add the cider and hot stock, then simmer without boiling (again, with the lid on) for about 15 minutes, until the celeriac is tender. Add the milk, and blend until smooth. Reheat, and check for seasoning.

Serve hot with a nice bit of toast. Perfect on a cold autumn day.

4 Responses to “Celeriac and cider soup”

  1. Penniless Veggie November 3, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    Ooh, cider and celeriac, what a good sounding combo! Pleasingly alliterative too ;D

  2. trixpin March 6, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

    What a lovely looking soup! I adore celeriac but somehow it’s never top of my vegetable shopping list, although “sex in vegetable form” is definitely moving it up the list! I wish I grew my own then the cost of it would never be an issue.

    And re: additives in cider, I heard about this on The Food Programme on radio 4 and since then have carefully examined cider labels, but until you get to the really good quality ones none of them give you an ingredients list (I think this was one of the issues raised in the programme) so you don’t know the % of apples used. I guess if they don’t tell you, they’re not proud of it so best to avoid those ones …

    I’d love to try this soup, with good quality cider of course 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creamy Vegetable Soup with Butter Sautéed Mushrooms | Yummyfoodmadeeasy - November 23, 2013

    […] Celeriac and cider soup (mrsveg.wordpress.com) […]

  2. In my veg box this week – winter purslane, celeriac, red cabbage | Mrs Veg - February 19, 2014

    […] warm, spicy, earthy, and totally unique. You can use it to make some pretty damn fine soup (like my celeriac and cider soup). I also particularly enjoy making alternative chips or wedges, by roasting it with curry powder, […]

Leave a Reply

