Totally un-posh vegetarian breakfast

11 Aug

As a vegetarian and wannabe vegan, it’s very important to me that the majority of my meals are healthy, well-balanced, and mostly plant-based. I don’t like to eat junk food too often (and I do count fake meat as junk food) but when I do, I like to go all out and do it in style.

It has been a very long time since I last went to McDonalds, but I remember that the only thing on the menu that I genuinely liked was the egg mcmuffin. It’s so easy to recreate at home, all you need is:

  • an English muffin
  • a cheese single (the nasty plastic-wrapped stuff, real cheese is too good and will not work)
  • a fried egg, preferably cooked in a non-stick cooking ring
  • either a couple of slices of vegetarian bacon, or some packet sausage mix made up into a little patty

Yes, there are much classier breakfast things you can make with a muffin and an egg (or some tofu), but sometimes only junk will do.

9 Responses to “Totally un-posh vegetarian breakfast”

  1. Lau August 11, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    I am a vegetarian too, I am so happy I found your blog! 🙂 This looks delicious.

  2. bakewithmeblog August 11, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    These look soooo good! Yum!

  3. nickmcw August 11, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    Brilliant brekkie. It reminds me of the excellent Dutch “uitsmijters” my mum used to make us, but I’m going to try this muffin-based version. And straying a bit from the un-posh, it’s very good on fried potato scone too.

    • mrsveg August 11, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

      Ooh, that sounds really nice!

  4. Sophie33 August 24, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    MMMMMMMM,… A lovely breakfast! Tasty, tasty, tasty! 🙂

  5. Veronica Sheppard October 9, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Breakfasts aren’t meant to be posh anyways! Looks really good 🙂

  6. Rebecca Meyer January 8, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

    Yum! This blog is great for creative vegetarian recipes. So glad I stumbled on this! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Veganizing a Mrs Veg classic – breakfast muffins | Mrs Veg - April 6, 2014

    […] of the most popular posts on my blog to date is the veggie bacon and egg muffins from August 2013. It does bother me a little that on a mostly healthy, mostly plant-powered blog, […]

Leave a Reply

