Harissa spiced roast vegetable pasta

17 Jun

2013-06-17 19.45.59

I’ve not posted very much over the last few weeks because I’ve been super busy at work, which completely saps my creativity. Things are calming down now, and I’ve finally got my cooking mojo back! I’ve been celebrating today with this simple spicy veggie pasta (recipe below).

2013-06-17 20.24.44

Recipe (serves 2)

  • A selection of veggies. I used onion, tomato, aubergine/eggplant, and courgette/zucchini. Other good options include squash, sweet potato, pepper or fennel.
  • Two tablespoons oil
  • 150g wholemeal pasta
  • 1 tablespoon harissa paste, or to taste
  • 1 tablespoon tomato puree

Preheat the oven to 200˚C. Chop the vegetables into roughly bite-sized pieces, transfer to a roasting tin, toss in the oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast until tender and starting to brown around the edges, around half an hour.

Meanwhile, cook the pasta according to the instructions on the packet. Drain and return to the pan. Add the harissa and tomato puree and the roasted vegetables. Mix well, adding a splash of water if it looks a bit dry.

Serve with some tasty protein, such as beans or marinated grilled tofu. We were feeling slightly less classy than that today, so we topped it with some vegetarian hot dogs. Yum.

2 Responses to “Harissa spiced roast vegetable pasta”

  1. laurasmess June 27, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

    I adore harissa. It’s one of my favourite spices. Love the idea of roasting the vegies before adding them to the pasta. I’ve only ever pan-fried vegetables for pasta but I think I need to change that! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • mrsveg June 28, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

      The great thing about roasting the veggies instead of frying them is that you can just put them in the oven and forget about it for a bit. No stirring or anything. Yes, I’m that lazy.

Leave a Reply

